Download this guide [PDF; 61.4K]
Western Australian University Libraries operate under the University Library Australia (ULA) national borrowing scheme which aims to provide free borrowing to students and staff of member universities of the Australian Vice-Chancellors' Committee. The University of Notre Dame Australia has negotiated separate reciprocal borrowing rights for their students with Edith Cowan University and Murdoch University.
Current students and staff of Curtin, ECU, Murdoch and UWA may participate in the scheme, as may staff and students of other CAUL universities. It also allows reciprocal borrowing between the University of Notre Dame Australia and Murdoch University and Edith Cowan University.
Membership is personal, and not transferable.
How do I apply?
There are two ways to apply: either directly by visiting each library, or by applying online from any Internet connected computer
1. To apply directly you need to personally visit each library from which you wish to borrow and present your home university ID card and provide your university email address.
2. NEW ONLINE REGISTRATION! If you are a Curtin, ECU, Murdoch or UWA student or staff member, you can now register online before travelling to these libraries. Go to the following website for more information and to register:
http://wagul.curtin.edu.au/reciprocal_registration.html (please allow two working days for UWA to process your registration)
No. Membership is for the current academic year only. You need to renew your registration each year. Borrowing privileges expire on the 28th February of the following year.
You may have up to 30 items on loan at any one time from the University of Western Australia and 12 items from each of the other libraries. Some items are not available for loan, or have special conditions.
Borrowing rules vary between libraries and you need to make yourself familiar with those at the libraries where you borrow items.
No. You must request inter-library loans from your home library.
6 weeks: Curtin University, Edith Cowan University, The University of Western Australia, The University of Notre Dame Australia
4 weeks: Murdoch University
All loans are subject to recall at any time, despite the nominal due-back date.
NEW ONLINE REGISTRATION AT http://wagul.curtin.edu.au/reciprocal_registration.html
Penalties and fines for overdue items vary at each library. If you do not return items, your home library will reimburse the library for items and bill you for them.
The Libraries, including the University of Notre Dame Australia, aim as far as possible to provide their specialist services, facilities and equipment to students and staff with disabilities and/or medical conditions from the other libraries. Students and staff who want this assistance should register first with the equity Office at their home institution.
| Access to databases | Most databases available for walk in access. |
| Penalties |
Invoiced if item not returned. Uncleared debts may result in cancellation of membership. |
| Special conditions | No Reserve Collection or 3 day loans. No loans from the External, Film or Video collections or of music CDs or music cassettes. 4 items from the Curriculum Collection. |
| Contact | All library notification is sent by email. |
| Information Services | Provided subject to availability of staff. |
| Copying & printing | CopyPlus cards cost $2.00 + credit |
| Access to databases | Walk in access where database licence permits. |
| Penalties | Reserve loans - 50 cents/hour (or part thereof)/item; 3-Day Loans - $2/item/1st day overdue + $1/day thereafter; all other loans 50 cents/day/item. In addition, a replacement cost and $15 admin fee after 42 days. Overdue material and/or fines over $20 = Suspension. |
| Special conditions | No Murray Street Library or Teaching Resources Library loans. Borrowers must notify Curtin Library of any change of address immediately. |
| Contact | All library notification is sent by email. |
| Information Services | Provided subject to availability of staff. |
| Copying & printing | Curtin photocopying card costs $3.20 + credit |
| Access to databases | Walk in access where database licence permits. |
| Penalties | 1 penalty point/item/day overdue. 10 points/day if recalled. 200 points = suspension. Reinstatement follows payment of $20.00 fine. |
| Special conditions | No Reserve Collection or Curriculum Resource Centre loans. |
| Contact | All library notification is sent by email. |
| Information Services | Provided subject to availability of staff. |
| Copying & printing | Use any card with a magnetic strip + must have credit on Murdoch account. |
| Access to databases | Selected databases are available for walk in access if licence permits. |
| Penalties | Overdue material = suspension. Standard loan = 1 penalty point/day/item overdue. Recalled items 25 penalty points/day/item overdue. 200 penalty points = suspension + $25 fine. |
| Special conditions | None |
| Contact | All notification is sent by email. |
| Information Services | Provided subject to availability of staff |
| Copying & printing | Card cost $3 + credit |
| Access to databases | No access where database license permits and for registered reciprocal borrowers. |
| Penalties | $1/day/item overdue + invoiced for replacement cost and $25 admin fee if not returned after 42 days. $20 fine accrual = suspension until fines are paid in full. Overdue materials = suspension. Lost material = suspension. |
| Special conditions | No Reserve Collection on 3 or 7 day loans. No access to Video and AV material. Borrowers must notify library of change of address immediately. |
| Contact | All library notification sent by email |
| Information Services | Provided subject to availability of staff. |
| Copying & printing | Use any card with a magnetic strip + credit |