- The UWA Library Web site
- Resources available at Albany
- Course Materials Online (CMO)
- Requesting materials held in the UWA Library in Perth
- Copyright regulations
- Renewing your loans
- Returning items to Perth
- Information literacy
- Information services
- Library notices by email
- Visiting Perth
- Contacting the library
- Further Information
Download this guide [PDF; 222.9K]
The UWA Library Web site
The UWA Library Web site is the Library's gateway to information resources held within the Library and around the world. You can access the UWA Library homepage from any computer with an internet connection. Some of the resources the Library Web site provides access to include:
- the UWA Library catalogue
- information about using the UWA Library
- online UWA Library tutorials
- past examination papers
- UWA Library guides
Resources available at Albany
Become a member of the Albany Public Library (APL) so you can borrow items held there in accordance with the APL conditions of borrowing. Copies of all essential reading list items required for courses run at the Albany Centre that are not available online through Course Materials Online, are held in the UWA collection at the Albany Public Library. Books are listed in the Albany Public Library catalogue.
Course Materials Online (CMO)
Library resources identified by your unit coordinator as important for units are listed in the Course Materials Online (CMO) section of the Library Web site.
Material listed in CMO may consist of books, book chapters, journal articles, selected cases and legislation, or Government reports. Where possible, the Library has digitised this material into a full-text format which can be accessed from the Library Web site. Complete books are usually not available online (see the Copyright Regulations section below).
Not every book listed in CMO for your unit will be available to you. However all books identified by your unit coordinator as essential will be available at the Albany Public Library.
Course Materials Online also provides links to the full text of past examination papers where available.
For any course materials required that aren't held at Albany Public Library and that aren't available online via CMO please consult with your tutor or unit coordinator.
Requesting materials held in the UWA Library in Perth - Get It!
If an item is not held in the UWA Collection in the Albany Pubic Library and is held in the UWA Library in Perth, you may request the item or a photocopy of the item from the Library by placing a Get It! request. You can borrow books and audiovisual items and request photocopies of articles from journals and copies of chapters in books.
You cannot request or recall an item through the Library catalogue. You must use the Library's Get It! document delivery request service.
We can send you up to 30 items at one time from the UWA Library in Perth. The loan period is six weeks. We cannot send you items that are in Course Materials Online, available in an online database or journal, or are in the Albany Public Library.
Items (not photocopies) may be recalled from you at any time. You will have 9 days to return recalled items to Perth.
Items will be sent to the Albany Centre for you to collect.
Copyright regulations
All requests for photocopied material must comply with The Australian Copyright Act. The Australian Copyright Act allows one chapter or ten per cent of a book to be copied. One article from any issue of a journal can be copied. More than one article in any issue of a journal can be copied only if the articles are on exactly the same topic.
Renewing your loans
You can check or renew loans (twice) yourself from My Library Loans located on the Library homepage.
Items cannot be renewed if they are overdue or have been requested by another borrower.
Returning items to Perth
You do not need to return photocopies to the Library. Books and other items must be returned to the UWA Library in Perth by the due date. Please be aware that the items must be received at the UWA Library in Perth on or before the due date to ensure there are no penalties applied. You can return items through the Albany Centre by placing them in an envelope addressed to the appropriate Subject Library and their Mail Box Delivery Point. For example, Humanities and Social Sciences Library - M209.
Information literacy
The Library Web site provides access to InfoPathways, an interactive, online, self-paced tutorial. It shows you how to:
- understand your reading list
- find items on your reading list
- plan your search
- locate information
- evaluate information
- understand copyright
- understand referencing and plagiarism
Information services
Librarians can provide you with assistance in using the Library's collections, resources and services, including the catalogue and our online databases and journals. They can also help you solve problems related to Library research and finding information for you assignments.
Further information about reference and information services is available via Library Services from the UWA Library homepage.
Library notices by email
All undergraduate students currently enrolled at The University of Western Australia are automatically assigned a basic, web-based email address through Information Technology Services. It is important that you use this email address, as it will be used by the University for official correspondence with you, such as HECS information, exam information and Library Notices. This account is managed by a service called Pheme, the authentication management system. All students must activate their Pheme account from the Pheme website.
Additional information about email and internet services is available via the UWA homepage from Computing, systems and the internet.
Visiting Perth
You will need to use your Student Card if you wish to borrow items from the Library while you are in Perth. These items will be subject to the normal loan rules applying to all students who borrow items from the UWA Library, Crawley campus and can be returned through the Albany Centre. Ensure you allow enough time for the items to be received in Perth on or before the due date.
Contacting the Library
Contact the librarians in your Subject Library if you need more information about the services offered by the UWA Library. Subject Library offices are staffed from 9.00am to 5.00pm, Monday to Friday. Outside of these office hours, an evening and weekends librarian service is available to coincide with the Reid Library opening hours.
You can email a librarian using iPoint: FAQ | Ask a Question service or call the freecall number on 1 800 263 921.

