- Introduction to Library Resouces and Services
- Borrowing from the Library
- Penalties for overdue items
- Finding key resources for your units
- Photocopying, printing and scanning
- Using the Library PCs
- Activate your Pheme account
- Activate your "Full Internet Access" account (requires a Pheme account first)
- SNAP Internet Network Access
- Where do you go for your subject?
- University of Western Australia Library sites
Download this guide [PDF; 214K]
The UWA Library offers a variety of services to help you in your studies. There are eight subject libraries at UWA, each with specialist staff who can help you find the information you need, as well as book and journal collections to support your studies. These subject Libraries are:
- Science Library
- Business Library
- Education, Fine Arts and Architecture Library (EDFAA)
- Humanities and Social Sciences Library (HSS)
- Law Library
- Medical and Dental Library
- Music Library
Each library offers an orientation programme at the beginning of semester. We encourage you to participate. Some Libraries also have self-guided tours. Please contact the Library staff in your subject library to join an orientation program.
Introduction to Library Resources and Services
The Education, Training & Support section of the Library web site home page provides introductory information about skills and resources essential for study at university. The Education, Training & Support section includes:
- Online Courses: including InfoPathways, a self-paced tutorial introducing research skills
- Guides to library services
Borrowing from the Library
As an undergraduate student you may borrow up to 30 items at a time for a period of 6 weeks from the main collection. Some items may have shorter loan periods such as a 3-day loans or Reserve items but these are clearly marked.
Your Campus Card is also your library card and you need to have it with you in order to borrow items from the library.
Penalties for Overdue Items
We encourage you to always return items on time or renew them online via the Library web site. If Library items are returned late you will accrue penalty points a the following rate:
| Semester/6 week loan | 1 point per item per day |
| 3-day loan | 25 points per item per day |
| Recalled items | 25 points per item per day |
| Reserve Collection items | 25 points per item per hour |
If you reach 200 penalty points you will receive a $25 fine. Note also that if you have items overdue you are unable to borrow anything further until these items are returned.
Finding Key Resources for your Units
The Course Materials Online (CMO) link on the Library web site home page gives you access to CMO lists for your units. CMO lists contain some resources recommended by your lecturers - these may include online journal articles, book chapters, examination papers, or links to books and other items held in subject libraries. You can access the full text resources at any time of the day or night from any computer.
Print materials relevant to your units are held in the Reserve Collection of your subject library. You can borrow 2 reserve items at a time for maximum of 2 hours - they may also be borrowed overnight and should be returned the next day by 9am on weekdays and within 15 minutes of the Library's opening at the weekends. Reserve items can also be booked in advanced by contacting your Library loans staff.
Photocopying, Printing and Scanning
Your Campus Card can be used to pay for photocopying and printing. A standard A4 page costs 12 cents. Credit can be added to the Card using an autoloader machine available in every library except the Music Library. Change is not available from the autoloader or from library staff. Library photocopiers can also scan and save documents as PDFs to USB devices.
Using the Library PCs
You need to use your UWA Campus Card number and barcode to log on to PCs in the Library. This log on will give you access to library resources such as:
- the Library catalogue
- the Library's online databases
- the Library's online journals
- selected web sites (including all sites withing the .edu or .gov or .org domains)
You also have access to applications software including Microsoft Office (Word, Excel, etc) and can save data to USB storage devices or floppy discs.
Do not forget to LOG OFF when you have finished.
Activate your Pheme Account
You should activate your Pheme account as soon as possible. Pheme provides you with a single password for a range of UWA services such as email, WebCT, Lectopia, dialin and VPN access, and Student Connect.
You can activate your account from the Pheme - Authentication Management System (Select Student and select Activate Account).
The Library uses student email as the principal method of notifying students about requested items ready to by collected; overdue and recalled notices; and loan reminders.
Activate your 'Full Internet Access' Account (requires a Pheme account first)
The catalogue, Library databases and online journals, and all UWA web pages incur no net usage charges when accessed from Library PCs. Similarly, when using Library PCs there is no charge to access sites with .edu .gov or .org domains.
To access other web sites from the Library PCs you must activate your 'Full Internet Access' account. This account also give you access to the University's dialin and VPN service.
To activate your 'Full Internet Access' account go to the Full Service Account Presentation. View the online presentation and print out and sign the application form at the end. Lodge the form at the Reid Information Centre (RIC) desk on the first floor of the Reid Library building.
SNAP Internet Network Access
You can access UWA and external web sites from your own laptop in the Library using SNAP. SNAP requires a 'Full Internet Access' account. More information and registration is available from the SNAP web site.
For more information on Pheme, Full Internet Access, and SNAP visit the Information Technology Services (ITS) web site or contact the Student Internet Support Office (SISO) first floor Reid Library building.
Where do You Go for Your Subject?
|
Science Library Business Library (BUS) Education, Fine Arts and Architecture Library (EDFAA) |
Medical and Dental Library (MED) Humanities and Social Sciences Library (HSS) Scholars' Centre Law Library Music Library |
University of Western Australia Library Sites
Click here for a map to Subject Library sites.

