Frank Callaway collection

Library home  >  Help  >  Guides  >  This page

Frank Callaway collection

Library home > This page
 

This collection brings together an extensive range of letters, papers, scores, and other items acquired by Emeritus Professor Sir Frank Callaway during his long and distinguished career in music education.  During that career he came into contact with many of the influential figures in the world of music.  This collection is a unique record of his career.

The collection is housed in the Library's Manuscript Collection which is part of the Scholars' Centre on the second floor of the Reid Library building.  For access to the collection please ask at the Scholars' Centre Inquiry Desk.  The Manuscript Collection can be consulted between 8:30am and 5:00pm Monday to Friday.

The following letters and scores are included in this collection which was donated by Sir Frank Callaway in March 1999.

Download this guide [PDF; 248K] 

Letters

Bliss, Arthur (1891-1975). British composer and conductor.
Letter to Frank Callaway. London, 16 October 1965.

Bulow, Hans Guido von (1830-1894). German pianist and conductor.
Autograph.
Letter to M. Marchesi. Weimar, 20 December 1851.
Letter to "Herr Professor". Munich, 20 September 1861.

Busoni, Ferruccio (1866-1924). Italian pianist and composer.
Letter. Berlin, 20 May 1897.

D'Albert, Eugene (1864-1932). British pianist and composer.
Letter to Egon Schapper. Como, 7 August 1923.

Delius, Frederick (1962-1934). British composer.
Letter to Universal Edition Inc. Grez-sur-Loing, 6 April 1924.

Dyer, Louis Hanson (d. 1962). Australian music publisher.
Letter to Frank Callaway. Paris, 19 June 1958.

Dyson, George (1883-1964). British composer.
Letter to Frank Callaway. Winchester, 19 May 1958.

Elgar, Edward (1857-1934). British composer.
Letter to Joseph Bennett. Malvern, 1900?
Letter to Stephen Moore. Worcester, 28 July 1931.

Grainger, Percy (1882-1961). Australian composer.
Letter to Frank Callaway. Pevensey, 1 November 1948.

Hiller, Ferdinand (1811-1885). German pianist and conductor.
Autograph.

Liszt, Franz (1811-1886). Hungarian pianist and composer.
Letter to M. Angelo Potito. Budapest, 2 February 1880.

Menuhin, Yehudi (1916-1999). British violinist.
Letter to Frank Callaway. London, 7 May 1974.

Parry, Hubert (1848-1918). British composer.
Three letters to Frederick Bridge. London, 6 June 1895, 26 June 1911, 24 July 1911.

Quilter, Roger (1877-1953). British composer.
Three letters to Frank Callaway. London, August 1948-January 1949.

Sauer, Emil von (1962-1942). German pianist and composer.
Letter. London, undated.

Vaughan Williams, Ralph (1872-1958). British composer.
Two letters to Frank Callaway. London, 7 February 1951, 26 April 1956.

Villa-Lobos, Arminda. Widow of Heitor Villa-Lobos (1887-1959). Brazilian composer.
Card to Frank Callaway. Rio de Janeiro, 24 May 1972.

Walton, William (1902-1983). British composer.
Letter to Frank Callaway. Forio d'Ischia, 19 December 1963.

Wieck, Marie (1832-1916). Pianist and sister of Clara Schumann.
Letter to Frau Marchesi. Dresden, 30 December 1911.

Scores

Bliss, Arthur (1891-1975). Seven American poems. (London: Boosey & Hawkes, 1957, c1942).
Inscribed to Kathleen Callaway, October 1964.

Delius, Frederick (1862-1934). Five songs; The song of the high hills (full score); Piano concerto in C minor (full score). (Various editions).
Volume originally in the composer's library. Presented and inscribed to Franz Holford by Eric Fenby in 1948. Includes annotations by the composer on The song of the high hills.

Marshall-Hill, G.W.L. (1862-1915). Romeo and Juliet. Piano score. (London: Enoch & Sons, c1914).
With an autographed photograph of the composer.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791). Don Juan. Piano score, edited by Artur Bodanzky. (Berlin: Jungdeutscher Verlag, c1914).
Inscribed by Rudolph Werther, 1956.

Vaughan Williams, Ralph (1872-1958). Concerto grosso for string orchestra. Full score. (London: Oxford University Press, 1950).
Autographed by the composer.

Vaughan Williams, Ralph (1872-1958). Pastoral symphony (Symphony No. 3). Full score. (London: J. Curwen & Sons, c1924).
The composer's annotated copy with associated correspondence between the composer Verdon Williams and Frank Callaway.

Vaughan Williams, Ralph (1872-1958). Sir John in love. Piano score. (London: Oxford University Press, c1930).
Inscribed by the composer to Alfred Walmsley, who sang in the first performance in 1929.