Databases in Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences

Library home  >  Help  >  Education, training & support relevant to your faculty  >  Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences  >  This page

Databases in Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences

Library home > This page
 

Download Download this guide [PDF; 274K]

Database are accessed via the Library Web site by entering the database name into the title search of The UWA Library Catalogue, or by entering the database name into the search toolbar within SuperSearch.

AMED: Allied and complementary Medicine (2000 - ) is produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library. Covers a selection of journals in subject areas such as: physiotherapy, podiatry, palliative care, and rehabilitation.

Australian Bureau of Statistics (1998 - ) [full text] provides access to ABS data including all publications from 1998 onwards, spreadsheets from both the ABS Time series and the Census Basic Community Profiles.

AUSThealth covers health-related literature with the focus on Australia; comprises eight files that can be searched individually or collectively:

  • Australasian Medical Index (AMI) (1966 - ) Australian and New Zealand literature most of which is not covered by Medline or EMBASE. Subject coverage includes all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields
  • APAIS-Health (1878 - ) indexes Australian social and ethical health issues. Clinical articles are not indexed
  • ATSIhealth: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Bibliography (1989 - ) Australian indigenous health
  • AusportMed (1989 - ) Medical and health issues in Australian sport
  • CINCH-health (1968 - ) Health issues related to Australian crime and criminal justice
  • DRUG (1987 - ) Prevention and treatment of alcohol and other drug abuse. Both legal and illegal drugs are included
  • Health & Society databases (1980 - ) Social, psychological, legal and ethical issues involving the health and well-being of Australian people
  • RURAL (1966 - ) rural and remote area health issues and care, and the practice and educational needs of health providers, in particular medical practitioners and nurses

Biological abstracts (1926 - 1968) is a major life science and biomedical research index.

BIOSIS previews (1969 - ) provides and index of published biomedical research.

CAB abstracts (1973 - ) covers the applied life sciences; includes biotechnology and aspects of human health and human nutrition.

CINAHL: Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature (1982 - ) includes references related to physiotherapy and podiatry.

Clinical Evidence (1999 - ) is an international source of best available evidence on the effects of common clinical interventions. Summaries about the prevention and treatment of clinical conditions are based on the research literature.

Cochrane Library [includes full-text] is a source of references on evidence-based health care. Database includes:

  • Cochrane database of systematic reviews
  • Cochrane central register of controlled trials
  • Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness
  • Health Technology Assessment Database
  • National Health Service Economic Evaluation Database
  • Cochrane Methodology Register

Current Contents Connect (1998 - ) indexes the table-of-contents of journals across all disciplines including clinical medicine and applied life sciences - updated daily.

Digital Dissertations (1861 - ) an index of citations for doctoral dissertations and masters theses primarily from the United States; includes selected theses from Australian universities.

DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'.

EMBASE (1988 - ) is the major European biomedical database including drug and pharmacology literature.

Global Health (1973 - ) brings together the resources of the Public Health and Tropical Medicine (PHTM) database and the human health and diseases information.

Health & Medical Complete (1987 - ) indexes a wide range of journals related to public and personal health.

Index to theses (1716 - ) is a comprehensive listing of higher degree theses from universities in Great Britain and Ireland.

INSPEC (1969 - ) is an engineering database that includes references to biotechnology.

Medline (1950 - ) is a major index to biomedical literature using a controlled vocabulary of biomedical terms to facilitate searching.

Pharmaceutical news index [full-text] provides coverage of specialized publications in the pharmaceutical, health care, biotechnology and medical device industries.

Popline (1970 - ) indexes the literature of population, family planning and related health issues; it also focuses on health issues relating to developing countries.

PsycINFO (1806 - ) is the major index for literature in psychology and the behavioural sciences.

PubMed (1950 - ) is the freely available version of Medline - updated daily.

ScienceDirect (1995 - ) [full text] is the full-text database of Elsevier Science journals.

SciFinder Scholar (1907 - ) indexes chemical literature and chemical reactions.

Scopus (1966 - ) indexes literature in life and helath sciences, social science, psychology and biologcal and general sciences.

SPORTDiscus (1949 - ) is the major index for sport and fitness information.

TOXNET (1967- ) is a set of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.

TRIP database searches over 75 sites of high-quality medical information including BMJ, JAMA and NEJM.

Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Index (1900 - ), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - ), and Arts, and Humanities Citation Index (1975 - ).  These databases track research across a range of disciplines, indicating where, by whom, and how often an article has been cited. Conventional searching by keyword is also possible, and the database can be used to follow the research trail of a key articles forward in time.

Further information

Reader Services Librarians can assist you in selecting databases that are useful for your research topic and give advice in using these databases effectively. Please contact us on 9346 7576 or by the Ask a Librarian service.