The UWA Library provides several ways for you to access newspapers. Select from the links below to either read today's news, or research historical issues of newspapers.
Catching up with Today's News:
Research the News using:
- Online databases of recent news
- Historical databases (online), or
- Historical collections (microfilm)
Catching up with today's news
On the Web
|
Australian |
International |
Via RSS feeds
Several news sites allow you to subscribe to their RSS feeds so you can receive alerts of all the latest breaking news headlines. For more information on RSS feeds and how to use them, see Keeping up-to-date using RSS. Some examples of news sites that offer RSS feeds are:
In print
The Reid Library has a comfortable lounge area where you can sit, stretch out and browse various Australian and international print newspapers. The newspapers are updated daily and held for four weeks.
|
Australian
International
|
Research the news
Online databases of recent news
- Factiva - 10,000 news sources from 160 countries in 22 languages: our largest newspaper database.
- EBSCO Newspaper source
- Proquest 5000 international
- PressDisplay - 60 day rolling backfile
- Australian Newspapers Online
- Newspapers.com
Historical
- Historic Australian Newspapers (1803-1954)
- The Historical New York Times (1857-2003)
- Times Digital Archive (1785-1985)
- Paper of Record (worldwide - predominantly Canada, USA and Mexico)
- Early English Books Online (includes early newspapers)
- Sydney Morning Herald archives (1955-1990)
- Canberra Times (1926-1954)
- 17th-18th century Burney Collection newspapers
- Papers Past (New Zealand newspapers 1839-1920)
- Chronicling America (1880-1910)
- Gallica - La presse quotidienne (19th and 20th century French newspapers)
- L'Emeroteca Digitale (19th and 20th century italian newspapers; requires DjVu plugin to view)
For assistance with the microfilm newspaper collection please ask at the Scholars' Centre on level two of the Reid Library. Please note that the list below isn't a comprehensive list of the Library's microfilm holdings. Please consult the Library catalogue.

