Library Services at Albany

Library home  >  Education, training & support  >  Guides  >  This page

Library Services at Albany

Library home > This page
 

Download Download this guide [PDF; 222.9K]

The Library Web site

The Library Web site is the Library's gateway to information resources held within the Library and around the world. You can access the Library Web site from the terminals in the Albany Centre or from any computer with an Internet connection. Some of the resources the Library Web site provides access to include:

Resources available at Albany

Copies of all essential reading list items required for undergraduate courses run at the Albany Centre that are not available online through Course Materials Online, are held in the UWA collection at the Albany Public Library. Books are listed in the Albany Public Library catalogue.

You will need to join the Albany Public Library if you wish to borrow items held there. It is your responsibility to know and adhere to the rules of the Albany Public Library.

Course Materials

Library resources identified by your lecturers as important for units are listed in the Course Materials Online (CMO) section of the Library Web site.

Material listed in CMO may consist of books, book chapters, journal articles, selected cases and legislation, or Government reports. Where possible, the Library has digitised this material into a full-text format which can be accessed from the Library Web site. Complete books are usually not available online (see the Copyright Regulations section below).

Not every book listed in CMO for your unit will be available to you. However all books identified by your unit coordinator as essential should be available at the Albany Public Library.

Course Materials Online also provides links to the full text of past examination papers where available.

For any Course Materials required that aren't held at Albany public Library and that aren't available online via CMO please consult with your tutor.

Back to top

Requesting materials held in the UWA Library in Perth

If an item is not held in the UWA Collection in the Albany Pubic Library and is held in the UWA Library in Perth, you may request the item or a photocopy of the item from the Library by placing a Get It! request. You can borrow books and audiovisual items and request photocopies of articles from journals and copies of chapters in books.You cannot request or recall an item through the Library catalogue. You must use the Library's Get It! document delivery request service.

We can send you up to 30 items at one time from the UWA Library in Perth. The loan period is six weeks. We cannot send you items that are in Course Materials Online, available in an online database, or are in the Albany public Library.

Items (not photocopies) may be recalled from you at any time. You will have 9 days to return recalled items to Perth.

You can recall items already on loan to another student, however you cannot recall items using the catalogue's Request process, you must use the Get It! Request form.

Items will be sent to the Albany Centre for you to collect.

Copyright regulations

All requests for photocopied material must comply with The Australian Copyright Act. The Australian Copyright Act allows one chapter or ten per cent of a book to be copied. One article from any issue of a journal can be copied. More than one article in any issue of a journal can be copied only if the articles are on exactly the same topic.

Renewing your loans

You can check or renew loans (twice) yourself from My Library Loans in the Library Services section of the Library Web site.

Items cannot be renewed if they are overdue or have been requested by another borrower.

Back to top

Returning items to Perth

You do not need to return photocopies to the Library. Books and other items must be returned to the Library in Perth by the due date. You can return items through the Albany Centre by placing them in an envelope addressed to the appropriate Subject Library (with the Mail Box Delivery Point). Please allow enough time for them to reach Perth by the due date.

Information literacy

The Library Web site provides access to InfoPathways, and interactive, online, self-paced tutorial. It shows you how to:

  • understand your reading list
  • find items on your reading list
  • plan your search
  • locate information
  • evaluate information
  • understand copyright
  • understand referencing and plagiarism

To access InfoPathways on the Library Web site go to Education, training and support then Online Courses.

Reference Services

Reference librarians can provide you with assistance in using the Library's collections, resources and services, including the catalogue and our indexing databases. They can also help you solve problems related to Library research and finding information for you assignments.

You can email a reference librarian from the Ask a librarian link on the bottom of all the Library Web site pages. Alternatively you can call 1 800 263 921

Further information about reference and information services is available in the Library services section of the Library Web site.

Library notices by email

All undergraduate students currently enrolled at The University of Western Australia are automatically assigned a basic, web-based email address through Information Technology Services.

It is important that you activate this email address because the Library is now sending many of its notices by email. Details about how to do this are on the Library Web site.

Additional information about internet services is available in Frequently Asked Questions on the homepage of the Library Web site.

Back to top

Visiting Perth

You will need to use your Student Card if you wish to borrow items from the Library while you are in Perth. These items will be subject to the normal loan rules applying to all students who borrow items from the UWA Library, Crawley campus. The loan period is six weeks by the items can be recalled by other users during this period. You will be responsible for all costs involved in returning the times to Perth.

Contacting the Library

Contact the reference librarians in your subject library if you need more information about the services offered by the UWA Library. Reference offices are staffed from 9.00am to 5.00pm, Monday to Friday.

Further Information

If you would like more information about the services and resources provided by the UWA Library, please use the freecall number 1 800 263 921, contact your subject library or go to Regional services.

Back to top