Library Information for UWA Staff

Library home  >  Education, training & support  >  Guides  >  This page

Library Information for UWA Staff

Library home > This page
 

Download Download this guide [PDF; 113K]

The Library Web site

The UWA Library Web siteprovides access to:

Lending

The lending rules can be found on the Library Web site.

Staff in regional areas should refer to the Library Web site under Regional staff and students.

Lending conditions for staff at the Crawley Campus - UWA staff may borrow an unlimited number of items from the general collections for a semester and a maximum of two reserve items at the one time for 2 hours each. Some materials such as journals and reference books may not be borrowed.

Requests and recalls - All staff can recall up to ten books at one time. Staff in the metropolitan area only can do this themselves via the Library catalogue. Requests to hold items may be placed on any borrowable items that are on loan, on display, at the bindery, in process or on the hold shelf. When requested by another borrower, items must be returned by the new due date shown on the recall notices. This date overrides the original due date. Items may be renewed unless required by another reader. Staff travelling overseas or inter-state (even for short periods) should return all items before leaving or arrange for someone to access their email notices and return any recalled items.

Reciprocal borrowing from other libraries - Staff of The University of Western Australia may read and study and join the libraries at the other Western Australian public universities.

Back to top

Recommending new titles for the Library

Books and other non-subscription resources - All academic staff are authorised to recommend new non-subscription items for purchase by the Library. Recommendations can be made by completing an online recommendation form available at Recommending new titles for the Library. Each School has a Library Liaison Officer (LLO) who monitors the Library information resources allocation to the School and who can provide information about new titles. A list of Library Liaison Officers is available at Acquiring resources for the Library.

Reserve - Materials required for the Reserve Collection can also be recommended using the online forms. These recommendations are automatically treated as urgent.
More information on recommending non-subscription materials, including those for the Reserve Collection, may be obtained from the Coordinator, Monographs Access Management (ext: 1670).

Journals, newspapers, and other subscription items - Recommendations for journals, newspapers, law reports, electronic resources and other subscription items (those for which payment is recurrent) must have the endorsement of either the Head of School, or the Library Liaison Officer. These should be submitted by September each year to the Coordinator, Serials Access Management. More information on recommending subscription materials may be obtained from the Coordinator, Serials Access Management (ext: 7197).

Course Materials Online and the Reserve Collection

Course Materials Online (CMO) is a development of the Library's traditional Reserve Collection. Much of the material previously held in the Reserve Collection has been digitised and is now included in Course Materials Online.

Materials which remain in the library's Reserve Collection are books, audiovisual materials, and some photocopies which cannot be digitised. Reserve items are located separately from the main collection. Each subject library has its own Reserve Collection.

Placing book and non-print items in Reserve
Academic staff may request that items be placed in Reserve for one semester or for the whole year. Multiple copies may be added at a rate of not more than one copy per 25 students enrolled in the course. Academic staff may request that material less likely to be in demand, be placed on three-day loan to facilitate greater circulation.

Placing journal articles and book chapters in Course Materials Online (CMO)
Requests for new CMO items should be submitted via the online "CMO Request" form. You can access this form by logging into CMO and clicking on the "CMO Request" link at the top of the page. Fill out as many details as you can and submit the form to the Library. If you already have the item in electronic format, you will be given the option to attach and upload it. If not, the Library will locate and digitise the item for you. The Library will notify you when the item is available.

Editing your CMO List
Unit Coordinators and Lecturers have the option to change the way their lists display to students and can add or remove items from their list, without requiring assistance from Library staff. The Library can edit your CMO list on your behalf, though we encourage all staff to manage their lists themselves. A guide on adding or editing your CMO list is available online at Library services > Course materials > CMO for academic staff or in print from (available from your subject library).

Back to top

Inter-library loans and document delivery service

If an item is not held in the UWA Library it may be possible to obtain it through the Library's inter-library loan and document delivery service. This service is available for University staff, postgraduate students and honours students. It is generally expected that staff will recommend for purchase recent books required for their research and not request them through interlibrary loan.

You must register before using this services. A registration form is available in the Library Services section on the Library's Web site.

Placing an inter-library loan request
After checking the UWA Library catalogue to make sure that the item is not available in the UWA Library, complete an electronic document delivery form for each item you require. The request forms, and help with placing a request, are available in the Library Services section on the Library's Web site.

All requests must observe copyright provisions. Copyright law prohibits the photocopying of more that one article from the same issue of a journal unless the articles are on the same topic.

Costs
Each faculty has an annual allocation for inter-library loans and document delivery.

Reference services

Reader service librarians are available in each subject library to provide assistance in using the Library's collections, resources and services.

Reader service librarians offer:

  • orientation sessions for new staff
  • training in the use of Library resources
  • advice on selecting the appropriate indexing databases for research
  • advice on strategies for building and managing bibliographies
  • assistance in tracking down obscure or incomplete references.

Contact numbers for reference services in each subject library are available on the Library Web site at - Contact the UWA Library.

An electronic reference service is available in the Library Services section on the Library's Web site.

Back to top

 

Information literacy

The library offers many information skills programmes for you and your students.

For students we can:

  • Work with you to embed information literacy skills in course curricula (see our web page on "Academic partnerships for information literacy" under Library Services > Information for academic staff)
  • Design information skills sessions tailored to the outcomes of your unit or course
  • Meet with your postgraduate students and assist them in selecting, using, evaluating and managing information (includes EndNote) for their research

For you we can:

  • Assist you with locating information for your teaching and research needs
  • Keep you informed about our new products and services (e.g. via email newsletters)
  • Help you to keep up to date in information for your research area.

Contact the Reader Services staff in the relevant subject library to request a training session for yourself or your students.

New books and journals display

New books
New books received by the Library are displayed in their home subject library for one week. You can obtain the list of new books electronically by joining the New Books email list in the Library Services > Other services > Email lists section of the Library Web site.

New journals
New issues of journals acquired by the Library are displayed in their home subject library.

Newspapers
Current issues of newspapers are located on the first floor of the Reid Library Building.

Information for postgraduates and researchers

There are links to information of prime importance to postgraduates and researchers. Information for postgraduates and researchers is at Education, Training and Support > Guide on the Library Web site.


More information

  • Contact the Library staff in your subject library.

Back to top