The Cochrane Library is a major resource for evidence based information. It is the product of the international Cochrane Collaboration. It comprises several databases with reviews or commentaries of high quality health information sources. Access all of the databases below through the Library Web site; search as a title in the Catalogue.
The Cochrane Library is provided free to all Australian users; segments can be searched simultaneously using the interface provided.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
The CDSR is the main product in the Cochrane Library. Database of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of health care. Contains mostly reviews of randomised controlled trials in full text. Data is often combined statistically using meta-analysis. Also includes protocols i.e. reviews currently in preparation.
Controlled Clinical Trials Register (CCTR)
The CCTR is a register of all relevant studies from many sources considered by the Cochrane reviewers whilst preparing the CDSR.
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE)
DARE provides abstracts of previously published international systematic reviews identified from a variety of sources and assessed for quality by the Cochrane reviewers. (Search interface also provided free via the University of York.)
Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
HTA has abstracts of published assessments of health care technology, identified by the University of York's NHS Centre for Reviews & Dissemination. (Search interface also provided free via the University of York.)
National Health Service Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED)
NHS EED contains structured abstracts of published economic evaluations of health care interventions. (Search interface also provided free via the University of York.)
A detailed guide about the Cochrane Library is available - please ask a Librarian in your subject library. More information about the Cochrane Collaboration and its work is available from the Australasian Cochrane Centre.
More information
- For more assistance, please Contact a Librarian in your subject library.
- Help is available for downloading software viewers.

