How to use connection files and filters

Library home  >  Education, training & support  >  Guides  >  EndNote  >  This page

How to use connection files and filters

Library home > This page
 

Please note that the filters and connection files on these pages are designed for use with PC's. If you are using a Macintosh and would like further information on how to download files, please go to the Help with Downloading page.

What are filters?

Filters allow you to search a database in the normal way and download the results into EndNote. Filters convert the fields in a catalogue or database record into a form that can be recognised by the EndNote software. EndNote comes preloaded with many filters. In addition the UWA Library has created or modified a number of filters to customise them for specific UWA databases.

Follow the link to download these filters.

What are connection files?

Connection files allow you to search a database or library catalogue using the "online earch" from within EndNote. This method uses EndNote as the search interface rather than the normal database search screen. This greatly simplifies the process of retrieving records and including them in your EndNote library but is not as thorough as using a database's prupose built software. search facilityEach connection file incorporates a filter to convert the record data into EndNote format.

Follow the link to the major Western Australian and Australian university library catalogues.

Instructions for using filters

1. First make sure you have a filter for the database you wish to search. A number of filters are already set up in the EndNote Filters folder. However they may not work with UWA databases. Filters specific to UWA Library databases can be downloaded from the Download filters for UWA databases table. Save to a disk or to the EndNote filters folder.

2. Conduct your search.

3. Save your results in the format specified for the filter. These formatting instructions are included in the Download filters for UWA databases table.

4. Save the results to a disk or a place on your hard drive where you can find them easily again.

5. Open EndNote and your chosen library.

6. Select File and then Import.

7. Browse to your search results using the Choose file button.

8. Find the appropriate filter using the pulldown menu in the Import option window.

9. Click on Import.

Instructions for using connection files

1. Connection files for major Western Australian and Australian university library catalogues can be found on the Download connection files and filters for selected Library catalogues page. Many databases will require authentication before you can access tem to search.

2. Open EndNote and your chosen library.

3. Select Online Search.

4. Choose the connection file and you are  connected to the database to perform your search. You will be prompted to use a password at this stage if required.

5. Conduct your search using the pulldown menus to choose which field you wish to search. EndNote will tell you how many hits you have retrieved in the bottom left hand corner.

6. Select the items you wish to import into EndNote and then click the Copy selected to button. EndNote will ask which library to send the references to and then copy them directly to this library.

7. To carry out another search on the same database, click back onto the EndNote search interface and follow the same procedure.

8. To log off, close down the temporary import library (you will need to discard these references - don't worry - any references you selected are already imported into your own library) and finally close the search interface.