Downloading from UWA databases

Library home  >  Education, training & support  >  Guides  >  EndNote  >  This page

Filters for UWA databases

Library home > This page
 

Information about directly exporting from databases or using filters to export from databases is available here.

Direct Export: means that a database has an inbuilt filter to convert data and directly export references into an EndNote library. This option is available from a number of databases to which UWA subscribes. 

Filter required:  means that results need to be saved  and then imported into an EndNote library using a filter as instructed. Common UWA databases with  links to suggested filters are below.  A complete list of downloadable filters is available form the EndNote site.

Assistance with downloading these files is available for both PC and Macintosh users.

When records are imported using Direct Export or Filters EndNote places them in a subset so  that you can check that  records have been correctly imported. It is important to do this as data may not be imported into the correct fields.  

   

i-inline-alpha-left i-inline-a-a i-inline-b-a i-inline-c-a i-inline-d-a i-inline-e-a i-inline-f-a i-inline-g-a i-inline-h-a i-inline-i-a i-inline-j-a i-inline-k-n i-inline-l-n i-inline-m-a i-inline-n-n i-inline-o-n i-inline-p-a i-inline-q-n i-inline-r-n i-inline-s-a i-inline-t-n i-inline-u-n i-inline-v-n i-inline-w-a i-inline-x-n i-inline-y-n i-inline-z-n i-inline-alpha-right

Database name What's available Instructions for saving results

A.

A+ Education Direct Export  
ABI-Inform Global Direct Export

 

AEI (Australian Education Index) Direct Export

 

AFPD (Australian Federal Police Digest)

No filter required

Direct Export available

Save as Long labels, complete record, choose Endnote as the output format, save as a text file (.txt) In Endnote choose Endnote Import as the import option. Edit records as required. Note: Endnote Import and Direct Export both require some editing.
AGIS

No filter required

Direct Export available

Save as Long labels, complete record, choose Endnote as the output format, save as a text file (.txt) In Endnote choose Endnote Import as the import option. Edit records as required. Note: Endnote Import and Direct Export both require some editing.
Agricola Direct Export  
ANRO (Australian Agriculture and Natural Resources Online) Direct Export  
Anthropology Plus Direct Export  
APAIS Direct Export  
APA-FT Direct Export  
APAIS (Health) Direct Export  
Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts Direct Export  
ARCH (Australian Architecture Database) Direct Export  
ART Full Text Filter required

Select WilsonWeb filter in Endnote filter manager. Save complete record, record number, short labels, save as a text file.

ATI (Australian Tourism Index)

No filter required

Direct Export available

Save as Long labels, complete record, choose Endnote as the output format, save as a text file (.txt) In Endnote choose Endnote Import as the import option. Edit records as required. Note: Endnote Import and Direct Export both require some editing.

ATRI (Australian Transport Index)

No filter required

Direct Export available

Save as Long labels, complete record, choose Endnote as the output format, save as a text file (.txt) In Endnote choose Endnote Import as the import option. Edit records as required. Note: Endnote Import and Direct Export both require some editing.
ATSI Health Direct Export  
AUSPORT (Med) Direct Export  
AUSThealth Direct Export  
Australasian Medical Index Direct Export  
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Filter required

Select OCLC filter in Endnote filter manager. Save search results as text file (.txt).

B.

Bibliography of the History of Art Filter required

Select OCLC filter in Endnote filter manager. Save search results as text file (.txt).

Biological Abstracts Direct Export  
Build: Australian Building and Construction and Engineering database Direct Export  
Business Source Premier Direct Export  

C.

CAB Abstracts Direct Export  
Career and Technical Education Direct Export

 

CBCA Education Direct Export

 

CINAHL Direct Export  
CINCH (Australian Criminology Database) Direct Export  
Cochrane Library (Wiley) Filter Select citations then choose Export Selected Citations.
In Export Type choose Abstract and Citation.
In File Type choose PC. Click on Go. Save the file in a temporary directory.
In EndNote choose File and Import. In Import Option choose Other Filters and then Cochrane. Find your Import Data File that you downloaded from Cochrane Library. Choose Import.
Compendex Direct Export  
Criminal Justice Abstracts Filter Save as Short labels, complete record, choose output format: plain text.
CSI (Consumer Sciences Index)

No filter required

Direct Export available

Save as Long labels, complete record, choose Endnote as the output format, save as a text file (.txt) In Endnote choose Endnote Import as the import option. Edit records as required. Note: Endnote Import and Direct Export both require some editing.
Current Contents Connect Direct Export  
Current Contents Connect Alert Direct Export  

D.

DELTAA Direct Export  
DRUG Filter Save as Short labels, complete record, choose output format: plain text.

E.

Econlit Direct Export  
Education Full Text Filter required

Select WilsonWeb filter in Endnote filter manager. Save complete record, record number, short labels, save as a text file.

Embase Direct Export  
Engine: Australian Engineering database Direct Export  
ERIC (Ovid) Direct Export  

F.

Factiva Filter Mark records. From the View as drop down menu on the right select Full Article/Report plus indexing. Choose article format. Save as a text file.
FAMILY : Australian Family and Society Abstracts Direct Export  

G.

Georef Filter required  Save as Complete Record and choose Direct Export  as a format. Some manual correcting may still be necessary.

H.

Health and Society (FAMILY) Direct Export  
Historical Abstracts Direct Export  

I.

IEEE Xplore Direct Export  
International Medieval Bibliography No Filter required For full instructions on downloading records see http://www.library.uq.edu.au/faqs/endnote/international_medieval_bibliography.html
Index to Legal Periodicals Filter required

Select WilsonWeb filter in Endnote filter manager. Save complete record, record number, short labels, save as a text file.

Ingenta Direct Export  
Inspec Direct Export  
International Index to Music Periodicals  Direct Export  

J.

JSTOR

Direct Export

OR

Import

Direct Export option only for users registered with a MyJSTOR account.

Users without a MyJSTOR account can export citations one at a time by clicking on the Export this Citation link. Select the EndNote (download RIS file) option, and save the file as a RIS formatted file. Import into EndNote using Reference Manager (RIS) option.

M.

MathSciNet Import only Mark required records. Before moving on to the next screen of results, use drop-down menu to select format Citations (EndNote). Click on Retrieve Marked button. When records displayed, use your browser's Save As function to save as a Text File. Import using EndNote Import as the Import Option.
Medline Direct Export  
MLA Bibliography Import only Mark records and from Marked List select Download Citations. Choose Download in a format Compatible with EndNote and save as a text file. Import into EndNote using Reference Manager (RIS) format.

P.

Periodicals index Online Import only Mark records, and from Marked List select Download Selected Citations. Choose Download in a format compatible with Endnote, save as a text file. Import into EndNote using Reference Manager (RIS) format.
PreMedline Direct Export  
Project Muse Direct Export  
Proquest databases Filter (reliable) or Direct Export (unreliable)

From the marked list choose :Export citations into EndNote. Choose the direct export option.  For a more reliable export, instead choose the Download in a format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, Reference Manager and RefWorks option and import the text file with the filter.

PsycInfo Direct Export  
PubMed Filter required Mark the records and change the display format to Medline. Save the results as a text (.txt) file and import with the Pubmed filter available from Endnote.

R.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Direct Export  

S.

ScienceDirect Direct Export  
SciFinder Scholar 2007 Filter Save as 'Tagged Format (*.txt)'. Navigate to the Documents folder and save your text file. Import into EndNote using the filter supplied. 
Sociological Abstracts Filter required Mark records and select Save, Print, Email. Select Full format records and Save as a text file (.txt). Select Sociological Abs (CSA) filter in EndNote filter manager. Note: some records may require some editing.

W.

Web of Knowledge (email alerts only)

Direct Export

Filter for email alerts

Note: This filter is for downloading email alerts only. It is compatible with Current Contents Connect and Web of Science alerts. Save the email results as a text (.txt) file.
Web of Science Direct Export  

Z.

 


More information