- What if my question is not answered here?
- Obtaining EndNote at UWA
- What is an EndNote Library?
- Can I have more then one library?
- I use two libraries, is this alright?
- Can I merge EndNote Libraries?
- How can I distinguish references used in separate papers when I use one Library?
- Can I import references from databases and Catalogues?
- Why are the references incorrectly imported?
- How do I type in a corporate author?
- How can I link references in EndNote, to files on my computer?
- My formatted bibliography is permanently shaded, how do I get rid of this?
What if my question is not answered here?
Although we have provided responses to the most common questions, here, we cover every case. If you cannot find an answer to your question here, please refer to the excellent FAQs hosted at the EndNote Web site. You should also check the EndNote discussion forum to see if your problem has been discusssed and a solution posted.
Obtaining EndNote at UWA
The University provides this software free of charge to all staff and students to download to personal computers. If on the UWA intranet go to http://software.ucs.intranet.uwa.edu.au/products/endnote. If accessing externally go to https://software.webservices.uwa.edu.au/Login.aspx. In both cases you will need your PHEME login details.
What is an EndNote Library?
An EndNote Library is a collection of references, each containing the information required to create a bibliography.
Can I have more then one library?
It is tempting to set up a new Library for each project, paper or assignment. The result may be that you get into difficulties if you need to use references from two or more different Libraries in the same document. EndNote can only format a bibliography from one Library at a time.
I use two libraries, is this alright?
Some EndNote users choose to use two Libraries. One is their working Library which they use to import results from database or catalogue searches, including some references which they may never find, read or need to use in their written work. The other Library is their "real" Library, which contains only the references they have read, plan to use in their paper or wish to keep for future reference.
Can I merge EndNote Libraries?
Whilst it is possible to merge Libraries, this will change the temporary citation number which EndNote assigns to references and will mean that you will not be able to go back and reformat a previous document.
How can I distinguish references used in separate papers when I use one Library?
Use your own keyword system: for example, references used in an assignment on outsourcing could all have "outsourcing" as a keyword, so you are able to search on them and draw them all together if required. Or you could change one of the unused fields in the reference screen, such as "Call number" to a field of your own choosing - such as Assignment or Paper and use the Outsourcing keyword here.
Can I import references from databases and Catalogues?
Many databases have a built in filter which allows you to export references from the database directly into an EndNote library. To find out if Direct Export is available from a particular database go to Downloading from UWA databases. If no direct export is available you may need to use a filter. The makers of EndNote (ISI) supply you with a number of filters and connection files, however we have identified and edited those specific for databases and catalogues used at UWA.
Why are the references incorrectly imported?
EndNote filters and connection files are not perfect - nor is the information in databases. Whilst we do our best to ensure that filters and connection files work well most of the time, it is possible that data imported using these tools may not always end up in the correct EndNote field and you will have to do some editing.
How do I type in a corporate author?
Type the corporate author in the ‘author field’ but remember to insert a comma after the entire corporate name (Australian Institute of Sport,) this way EndNote won't try to invert it like a personal name. The comma will be removed when you format your document.
How can I link references in EndNote, to files on my computer?
Open a reference in your EndNote Library place the cursor in the URL field (you can choose any field you like) and select References - Link to, then locate the document on your computer to insert the link. To open this document from within EndNote, select Reference - Open Link.
My formatted bibliography is permanently shaded, how do I get rid of this?
This is field shading, to remove using the word toolbar select tools - options , select the view tab. There are three field shading options. Use 'never' or 'when selected' to turn the shading off.

